MEET OUR TEAM:

SAT/ACT PREP

Please visit us on a desktop computer for full tutor bios!

DIRECTOR OF TEST PREP

Ryan Price

I graduated Davidson College in 2012 with a degree in Philosophy and a minor in Neuroscience. After getting my Master's in Molecular Neuroscience in Germany, I returned stateside to do scientific computing at the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland. After a semester in a PhD program, I felt that a science career was not right for me and left to focus on other pursuits.

 

I have tutored Biology, Algebra, Physics, German, and Test Prep off and on since 2014. Special test prep cred: I was one of two students in Georgia to get a perfect score on my ACT senior year of high school. 

 

In my off time, I enjoy playing one of my mini-menagerie of instruments, running, listening to beaucoup podcasts, and reading.

Isabel, a talented test prep tutor.

PROFESSIONAL TUTOR

ISABEL HANSON

Hi! I grew up in Winston Salem, NC with two brothers and a plethora of pets. I went to Loomis Chaffee, a boarding school in Connecticut for high school but could not stay away from the South. I came home for college and am now a proud member of Davidson College's Class of 2020. Currently, I am a Biology major with a minor in Health and Human Values. In my free time, I am actively involved in several volunteer organizations and love to play sports. I have a lot of experience working with kids all ages as I have worked as a nanny, camp consoler and basketball coach. I tutor all levels of school-curriculum math and sciences. I specialize in the SAT and ACT as well. I have developed my expertise with the SAT and ACT through my years of test taking and tutoring for myself as I started prepping in 7th grade before taking the SSAT (an admissions requirement for boarding school). 

HI! I’m Will, a mathematics and economics double major in the class of 2020 at Davidson College. I’m a member of our club ultimate Frisbee team, a saxophone player in the pep band, and a trip leader for the outdoor club. Both of my parents are educators, so an environment of learning and teaching has always surrounded me. I started tutoring calculus during my freshman year, and that has grown into tutoring Davidson students in math and economics at the college’s Center for Teaching and Learning, and tutoring students from the community with Patrick and PBA Ventures. The opportunity I’ve had to tutor 5thgraders through college students in a multitude of subjects within math and economics has allowed me to be a much more adaptable tutor who can fit the needs of different students. I look forward to meeting many more tutees, and helping them develop an understanding of and a love for my favorite subjects!

WILLIAM STIFEL
Professional Tutor

Amy is a Charlotte native and alumna of the IB program at North Meck High School. She received her BA in History from the University of South Carolina where she rode on the varsity equestrian team and spent a year studying history at the University of Warwick in the UK. On graduation she returned to her high school alma mater ten years ago to teach World History and IB International History. Amy completed her education (for now) with an MA in History from UNC-Charlotte. 

Professional Tutor
AMY STRONG PASKO

I am from Annapolis, Maryland, and came down to North Carolina as a member of Davidson College's Class of 2018. Currently, I am a Political Science major and Economics minor. While in high school, I spent time running cross country and playing viola in the orchestra. I've spent a lot of time working with kids of all ages, from babysitting, working as a camp counselor, and tutoring. When I switched schools in late middle school, I was behind on my language requirement, and learned first-hand the large impact that a tutor can have. I started tutoring so I could have a similar influence, and help others succeed as well. I enjoy tutoring in math through calculus, Latin, and English, as well as the ACT and SAT Verbal/Language section, and some sciences, particularly physics!

Professional Tutor
TARA O'HERLIHY

Hi! I grew up in Dayton, Ohio with three younger siblings and two wonderful dogs. I'm in the Davidson College class of 2018, majoring in Neuroscience and minoring in chemistry. I am involved in several volunteer organizations and still love to play sports. I even competitively water ski when I get the chance. I love working with children as I have had a lot of tutoring and babysitting experience throughout high school and college. I tutor in chemistry, biology, math and ACT/SAT prep. 

Professional Tutor
KINSEY BARHORST

I grew up in Rogers, Arkansas and came to North Carolina to attend Davidson College. During my time there, I played on the ultimate Frisbee team, was involved in religious life, and became a Hall Counselor for a freshman women's hall. After graduating in 2015, I took an internship at Walt Disney World in Florida working in Epcot, and returned to the Lake Norman area in January to begin graduate school for Counseling and Psychology at Gordon Conwell Theological Seminary in Charlotte! 

 

I have experience tutoring for SAT and ACT, specifically in the Math, Reading, and English sections. I also work with students in math subjects ranging from Pre-algebra to Algebra II, but I enjoy tutoring the flip side of English, Writing, and Literature as well! Proofreading is one of my guilty pleasures, and I get super excited about grammar and mechanics. I enjoy being outdoors, hiking, and working out at Iron Tribe fitness. But my favorite thing is getting to know people: how they think, what their strengths are, and where I can help them develop. 

Professional Tutor
TAYLOR BRADFORD

Hi! I am a proud member Davidson College's class of 2018 pursuing majors in both math and Spanish. I am from Roanoke, VA where I grew up as a soccer player, boy scout, and outdoors enthusiast. I have always loved math, and my love of Spanish stems from a high school foreign exchange program in Colombia that exposed me to the beauty of the language and hispanic culture. I have a lot of experience working with kids, aged anywhere from six through high school, from my jobs as a camp counselor, a babysitter, a middle school soccer coach and as a 1st grade Spanish student-teacher. I tutor all levels of school-curriculum math and middle/high school Spanish, and I specialize in the SAT and ACT. 

Professional Tutor
JOE JAMISON